The Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) was established in Georgia by a collaborative effort of highway safety advocates, legislators, law enforcement officials, educators, businesses and media in the wake of a high number of fatal vehicle crashes involving young, inexperienced drivers. TADRA involves an intense, three-step education process that allows the young driver to gain more experience behind the wheel. Additionally, it also requires that prior to the issuance of a Class D license you must have completed a cumulative total of at least forty (40) hours of other supervised driving experience, including at least six (6) hours at night.
Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16 year olds applying for a Class D driver’s license must complete an approved driver education course and complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian’s sworn verification that these requirements have been met. Any Georgia resident who has not completed an approved driver education course must be at least 17 years old to be eligible for a Class D driver’s license and he or she must have completed a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. The same verification in writing by a parent or guardian is required.Universitas Swasta di Bandung This manual is designed to help you achieve the required driving experience to qualify for a Class D driver’s license.
Cars do not crash; people crash them. In 2005, 136 Young Drivers (Ages 15-20) were killed and an additional 193 others killed as a result of a crash involving a driver (Ages 15-20) in Georgia. Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death of 15 to 20-year olds (based on 2003 figures, which are the latest mortality data currently available from the National Center for Health Statistics). In 2005, 3,467 15- to 20-year old drivers were killed and additional 281,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes nationally.
The Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) was enacted on July 1st, 1997. TADRA established a graduated driver’s license program for young drivers ages 15 to 18 in Georgia. This act directly addresses the leading killer of our young people – traffic crashes. The law significantly changes the way young motorist earn and maintain the privilege of driving by providing a controlled means for new drivers to gain experience, and by reducing high-risk driving situations. While the law does focus on young drivers, it also contains important provisions that affect drivers over 21, particularly in the area of DUI prevention and enforcement.
Step One – Instructional Permit (Class CP)
- You must be at least 15 years of age in order to apply.
- An original birth certificate, certified copy of the birth certificate (with embossed state seal), certificate of birth registration, certified copy of court records (adoption, name changes), certified naturalization records, immigration card or a Valid Passport needs to be presented at the time of application.
- You must know your social security number. The number is required to issue the permit.You will be required to pass an eye and knowledge test. A parent or legal guardian with a Georgia License or ID Card will have to go with you to the Customer Service Center in order to sign for you to be tested. The legal guardian must have a certified guardianship paper from the court or adoption paper with embossed court seal.
- A Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form must be signed and notarized from your School. It is valid for 30 days. All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, highLowongan Kerja school diploma, or an attendance form from your local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program.
- Any Out of State Learner’s permit or ID Card must be surrendered to issue a Georgia Permit.
- When driving, there must be a licensed driver at least 21-years-old in the front seat with you at all times.
- The permit is valid for 24 months
Step Two – Provisional License (Class D)
In order to apply for a Provisional License (Class D) all applicants must meet the following requirements:
- A valid learner’s permit must be held for one year and one day from its issuance.
- Appointments for on-the-road test are mandatory and should be made up to 90 days in advance. Reservation numbers are: (678) 413-8500 select option 3 or Toll-Free (866) 754-3687 when dialing from an area code outside of the Metro-Atlanta area.
- You must know your Social Security number.
- A parent, legal guardian, or authorized driving instructor must go to the Customer Service Center with you in order for you to be tested. The legal guardian must have a certified guardianship paper from the court or adoption papers with an embossed court seal. The driving instructor must have a notarized document, signed by the parent or legal guardian, authorizing that individual to act as their agent in the application process.
- A Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form must be signed and notarized from your School. It is valid for 30 days. All Konseling Online applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from you local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program.
- A parent, legal guardian, or authorized driving instructor must sign an affidavit at the time of examination that the applicant has at least 40 hours of on-the-road driver training either privately or 20 hours of on-the-road training in conjunction with a driver’s education class. After January 1, 2007, the 20 hours in conjunction with a driver’s education program is no longer applicable.
- You must have taken and present the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) certificate. If you have not taken the ADAP class Add-On Classes are offered monthly throughout the state.
- You must pass an eye and driving test.
- Effective January 1st, 2007 all those 16 years-of-age must be in compliance with Joshua’s Law in order to apply for a Class D driver’s license. You must show proof that you comply with Joshua’s Law by having completed one of the following methods of Driver Education. a. Public/Private School (30 hours) classroom (virtual or instructor) and (6 hours) private behind the wheel training (students also need and additional 40 hours of supervised driving experience). b. Public/Private School (30 hours) classroom (virtual or instructor) and parent taught behind the wheel (Completing this booklet will meet this requirement). c. Virtual (30 hours) classroom and (6 hours) private behind the wheel training (students will also need an additional 40 hours of supervised driving experience). d. Virtual (30 hours) classroom and (40 hour) parent taught behind the wheel (Completing this booklet will meet this requirement). e. All students must have 6 hours of supervised driving at night.